First listen : Normanton Street – Much Respect EP

We’ve given Normanton Street mentions before when they’ve popped onto our radar, and now we’re happy to host the premiere of their new Much Respect EP.

The six track EP comes out tomorrow and features (in their words) “three distinct vocals, jazz influenced guitars, warm bass grooves, tight rhythmic drums along with memorable saxophone melodies”. Laid back opening tracks Fly Lady (Get Money) and New Dawn contrast Ned and Nicholson’s rap with Phoebe’s soulful vocal, then No Drama takes things in a jazzier direction. Grass is Greener serves up some old school hip hop before Rakim (The 26th Year) takes things up a notch, and the stripped back acoustic R’n’B of This Wolf is the perfect showcase for Phoebes voice. Take a listen for yourself below:

The band have been on the road playing gigs in support of the new EP this week, playing in Nottingham, London, Leicester, Manchester and Sheffield, but return back to Brighton for the official launch party tomorrow night at the Haunt, with support coming from Time for T, New Street Adventure and Wolflung.

New Music – BentCousin, Normanton Street, Fire Eyes, Ed Prosek, Jolta

BentCousin have a new single out, in collaboration with producer Guiville. It’s called The Last One and features 80s guitars and the twins distinctive vocals, and is out now on Bandcamp:

Normanton Street‘s next EP comes out on 31st October. The EP’s called Much Respect, and the first track out there from it is One Evening. The launch party for the EP is on release day down at The Haunt.

We posted about the new Fire Eyes single, out this week, in our last New Music post where we posted up the AKDK remix. Here’s the original version of Hide Out:

The video for the new Ed Prosek single was premiered on Clash Music today. Hold On Tight came out last week, but the launch party is on Sunday 16th November at Bleach.

Finally, we have the debut single from a new Brighton band called Jolta.  It’s called Easily Grounded and it’s released on 10th November via Republic of Music: