Brighton Music Blog Advent Calendar Day Seventeen – Curxes / Further Still

Curxes - Mesmerist - Thursday - (c) Rob Orchard (1)sCurxes put out two singles this year but we’d already kicked off our rundown of our twenty five favourite tracks of the year when Avant Guarded appeared. Further Still is a classic example of Blitz Pop – the name that Curxes have given to the genre. Drums turned up to 11 and a gutsy vocal performance all tied together with a decent tune. There’s been a few pointers to some more tunes that Curxes have got waiting in the wings ready to release, so we look forward to hearing them in 2014.

June Top Ten

Here’s our regular monthly post of what’s hot on the Brighton Music Blog stereo over the last month.

1) Electric Soft Parade – Summertime in My Heart

We’ve probably listened to more Electric Soft Parade this month than everything else put together, and our top ten probably should just be the tracklist of Idiots, but what fun would that be? Summertime edged out in front of the other tracks, mainly because it’s the current single.

2) Milk & Biscuits – Hairstyles

Hairstyles is the second single from Milk & Biscuits forthcoming album Spirit Nap, and it’s great. It’s a bit Belle & Sebastian, a bit retro pop, and has a video filmed all around Brighton:

3) Us Baby Bear Bones – Swamp

We’ve been waiting for “What Starts With a U Ends With An I” for ages, and it was well worth the wait. A few of the tracks had appeared on YouTube, but the EP was the first chance we’d had to listen to Swamp over and over:

4) The Beautiful Word – Particles

When we first posted up the video for Particles back in May we said that it could well be the best thing they’ve done. After repeated plays, we’re pretty much sure it is.

5) New Union – Staying Friends

Staying Friends is the lead track on the New Union’s eponymous EP which came out four weeks ago. All four tracks on the EP are great, and the artwork for the 12″ is just as classy as we’ve come to expect from the band.

6) IYES – Lighthouse (BBC Introducing Session)

For their recent BBC session IYES swapped the electronics for a cello and it sounded lush. Unfortunately it’s long disappeared from iPlayer, so here’s the original:

7) Gaps – Cascade

We posted up the video for Gaps lovely, hypnotic upcoming single Keep You a couple of weeks ago, but we ended up listening to it’s AA side Cascade even more. The Guardian agreed with us and made them yesterday’s New Band of the Day! The single will be released on 15th July on Sexbeat.

8) Curxes – Further Still (Avec Sans Remix)

We featured the original version of Further Still in our April Top Ten, but this month a remix surfaced which reversed the vocals, giving the tune a completely different melody:

9) Champione – Bear vs Bear

We only got the chance to give Champione’s tunes a listen last week, which means they haven’t had that many listens which is why Bear vs Bear is only at number nine. This, and the rest of the Home EP, are definitely going to get a lot more listens over the next few weeks:

10) Rivieras – Weekend

Rivieras got in touch on twitter and pointed us in the direction of their latest EP, a four tracker called Weekend. We liked what we heard, but we spotted that it had been up on Soundcloud for at least six months, so didn’t really sit alongside the new music that we write about most of the time. It’s definitely worth a listen though. Here’s the title track:

New Singles – Shrine, The Wytches, Two Jackals (and a bonus remix from Curxes too)

Here’s a few new singles which have hit our radar recently.

First up is Shrine, who headlined Friday night at the Nice Weather For Airstrikes festival on friday night last week. Their new single is called Kursk. Here’s the video, and the soundcloud which has a free download option:

Next up is The Wytches. Beehive Queen is out on Hate Hate Hate records next monday, limited to 300 7″s, and the launch is at The Hope this saturday.

Cartagena by Two Jackals is out on Seven Dials Records on 1st June and was produced by Joel Cadbury and Pablo Clements from UNKLE.

Finally, we’ve got a remix of Further Still by Curxes. When we first posted about the track back in March we mentioned that there was a remix due, so here it is, with Avec Sans on the knobs, complete with a link to a free download:

Curxes / Further Still video

We haven’t stopped listening to the new Curxes single since we downloaded it nearly a fortnight. Now the duo have put up the accompanying video. I’ll let you watch the video to see the whole story, but the tag line put out with it reads “A lone taxidermist sets out to work on his most ambitious project yet”…

If you haven’t grabbed it yet, then you can head over to for the latest download link.

Curxes – Further Still

Curxes - Further StillToday Curxes release their new single Further Still, a free download currently available via soundcloud. Further Still is more delicate and complex than their previous releases, kicking off with an warped operatic vinyl sample which fades away to what initially appears to be a heartfelt ballad but reveals itself to be a thumping disco number by the end:

The announcement of the track was made on the 405 earlier today, and they promised some remixes. No sign of them yet, but we’ll update you when they surface. In the meantime, here’s the Curxes remix of Chvrches single Recover, which gets a digital release today. As mentioned a few posts ago, Recover is getting a vinyl release for Record Store Day on 20th April.