October Top Ten

We probably posted more new music in October than we had in any month in the three years we’ve been writing (we turned three on Friday!). Here’s our top picks from what we’ve heard:

1. Fujiya & MiyagiDaggers (Stephen Morris remix)

When we’re not listening to bands from Brighton, there’s a good chance that New Order ends up on the stereo, so when we read last week that one of our favourite Brighton bands had been remixed by a member of New Order it was almost inevitable that we’d love it.

2. Native RosesShadows (Ambassadeurs remix)

More Ambassadeurs than Native Roses, this remix of lush textured electronica didn’t bear a great resemblance to the original, but it’s beauty won us over.

3. Great PagansTangled up in Chemistry

Great Pagans album Cupid in Error was one of the highlights of the month. We could have picked any of the tracks – it’s all good – be we chose Tangled Up in Chemistry

4. Normanton StreetThis Wolf

We gave Normanton Street’s Much Respect EP a post of it’s own a day before it’s release last week, and deservedly so. The track we’ve chosen for our top ten is the beautiful stripped down This Wolf.

5. HeliopauseCity of Glass

Heliopause have popped up quite frequently on the blog over the years, as folk, then nudging post rock, and most recently as more straightforward indie. It suits them.

6. The DuBarrysUndress Your Soul

The DuBarrys had a self titled EP out this month, and lead track Undress Your Soul is a beautiful folk-pop classic in the making.

7. Fire EyesHide Out

Random Acts of Vinyl’s latest 7″ release by Fire Eyes is a great track on it’s own, but it confirmed it’s place in our top ten with remixes by the Bad Seeds’ Barry Adamson and AK/DK.

8. Eva BowanLacerta XI

Eva Bowan’s latest EP Hyperspectacle has been released by local label KLDCP and is possibly her most accessible, most cohesive work yet. We loved EP opener Lacerta XI.

9. Dog in the SnowConcrete Wall

Technically, Concrete Wall came out last month, being released as the B-side to Dog in the Snow’s Africa single, but it only got posted up to Soundcloud this month, and it’s still getting a lot of plays around these parts.

10. NightkitesDrones

We got the heads up about Nightkites’ future garage from GAPS who posted up a link to the music on their facebook page. The EP is named after the paranoid yet slightly hopeful standout track Drones.

New Music – Fujiya & Miyagi, Tigercub, Tyrannosaurus Dead, Ewan Hoozarmi, Abraham Moughrabi, Morning Smoke, Prince Vaseline, IYES

At the start of the week we posted what we said was “probably” our last New Music post of the month. As it turns out, there’s been so many great tunes in our in box we’ve decided to squeeze in another.

This evening we got very excited when Fujiya & Miyagi posted a brand new remix of Daggers from their latest album Artificial Sweeteners put together by Stephen Morris from New Order

Blood Red Shoes have launched their own label called Jazz Life, and the first release will be out on 1st December from Tigercub with a newly recorded version of live favourite Centrefold:

Tyrannosaurus Dead‘s new album Flying Ant Day is out a week next monday. To get everyone in the mood they’ve shared the track Bagged & Boarded:

Ewan Hoozarmi has a new free download up on Soundcloud. Reaching Dragons is five minutes of funky electro-house:

As well as tomorrow night being Normanton Street’s EP launch at The Haunt and Spit Shake Sister’s single launch at Bleach, it’s also the next Spectrum at the Dome Studio Theatre, which this month is headlined by Speak Galactic. Joining them on the bill is Abraham Moughrabi, who’s recorded a live video of Cross The Line for the Site and Sound part of Spectrum in advance of the night:

One of the supports at the Spit Shake Sisters launch tomorrow is Morning Smoke. They got in touch to let us know about their new single Hunger which is out on December 1st:

As I’m writing this, I’m missing out on Prince Vaseline playing live at the Prince Albert supporting 80s Matchbox spin off group Piano Wire. If you didn’t make the gig either (or maybe if you did and you’re reading this later), here’s the video for their new track Orchid:

Finally a new remix by IYES who are on the brink of releasing some new material of their own very soon. Here’s their taken on Jack Garratt‘s Worry, which they’ve turned into a much more upbeat, dancable affair: