An Alternative 2016 Albums best of…

So Rob always has his top ten Brighton albums of the year and it’s always very good and there are usually one or two overlaps with Jon’s but they’re never the same, so in the spirit of diversity and a reflection of the excellent year 2016 has been for music, Jon thought he’d drop a few Rob failed to mention and which happen to be top of his list.

Good-riddance to 2016. The music’s been great, but the rest not so much…

  1. Porridge Radio – Rice, Pasta and Other Fillers

Porridge Radio managed to produce our favourite album of anyone anywhere in 2016  and yet the band came close to giving up on the whole thing. So glad they didn’t. Rice, Pasta and Other Fillers was released on (sold-out) cassette and is still available for cheap on MP3 download. It will be coming out in shiny new vinyl on Memorials of Distinction label early next year. Brighton Music Blog reviewed the album and we interviewed lead Porridger Dana, who in our books is one of the loveliest people in rock, over on another place.

Here’s the video for their song ‘Lemonade’


2. Ellie Ford – The Other Sun

Ellie Ford‘s album The Other Sun was a real joy of an album that has been a long-time coming. We reviewed the launch gig back in March. Also available on vinyl as well as regular CD/downloads from the ever-impressive Hidden Trail records.

Here’s Ellie and her band performing the opening track ‘The Sweet Life’ for the Clockwork owl sessions


3. Sons of Noel and Adrian – Turquoise Purple Pink 

The Sons of Noel and Adrian returned this autumn with their best album yet. The title symbolising ‘sun rise’ and new beginnings, their complex interplay of prog, rock and jazz  combined with Jacob Richardson’s complex intricate melodies and sweet female vocalising to produce an innovative and original collection of songs,  also available on vinyl.

We interviewed Jacob in another place, and very much look forward to the album live at the official launch gig in Brighton in the Spring (date TBC).

In the meantime, listen to ‘Lay Down In The Drone’


4. Palm Springs – No Love Is Ever Lost

Palm Springs have been going for more than a decade now, pursuing their own independent path, releasing album after album of fine songs and finding fans globally (they’ve just toured France). Again on vinyl, the new album ‘No Love Is Ever Lost’ on their  Random Acts of Vinyl label is another beautiful collection of excellent independent pop song-writing worthy of your time and pennies.

Listen to ‘Come Back Home To Me’ below


5. Chris T-T – Nine Green Songs

Chris T-T released another album in 2016, a companion piece to his earlier 9 Red Songs, and whilst containing the best political sing-along of the year in ‘Worst Government Ever’ was perhaps a little unfortunately released just before the Government fell and a new one took its place. Singing that it was still the worst might have felt a little odd (was the previous one not the worst after all?) but it’s still a great song on another wonderful album from the ever-excellent Mr Thorpe-Tracey.

Here’s that perennial singalong if you haven’t heard it:


6. Muddy Suzuki – Mudnificence

Damo Waters is re-knowned for playing in pretty much every band that has ever existed in Brighton (it seems). The list is endless and doesn’t bear repeating. However, few people know that he is also Muddy Suzuki, a moniker under which he has been putting out an array of great self-produced albums over recent years. Now he’s combined the best from these releases in a collection, released just in time for Christmas.

If Santa wasn’t so kind, you can find it over on bandcamp – currently still available in pay-what-you-like download format – and this is Zebra Croissant from said album


7. Lutine – Died of Love (remixed)

We reviewed the Lutine remixes back in the Spring and were very impressed. It gave new life to their tender lo-fi folk release, and is well worth investigating.

This is the title track


8. Oddfellow’s Casino – Dust

Oddfellow’s Casino have produced some of our favourite winter songs, perfect for cold weather and log fires. We were delighted to find a beautiful alternative version of one of them opening this delightful collection of oddities, cover versions and out-takes.

And here’s the video for another lovely track, ‘Mir’


9. Becky Becky – In honour of ‘Silent SHOUT’

Our favourite electro-synth party-people Becky Becky released a covers album earlier this year, covering the whole of the Knife’s Silent Shout. We didn’t manage to ask them why, but it is very good.

It’s still available as a pay-what-you-like download.



Finally, but definitely not last, two albums you may have missed by former residents of this fair town – but they haven’t long left so we thought we’d give them a plug:

Laish – Pendulum Swing

First up is Danny Green’s outfit Laish who since his move up to London have been getting some well-deserved attention including radio play on 6 Music and the like. His third album was released in the autumn and is every bit as good as the previous two.

Pendulum Swing features the wonderful ‘Learning to Love the Bomb’ which is a definite track-of-the-year. Absolutely adore this


Elin Ivarsson – Self-Titled

And to close, a shout-out to former Brighton-resident Elin Ivarsson who we heard has moved back to Sweden where it’s even colder and they see snow. Nonetheless, beore she left Brighton earlier this year she dropped a fine collection of atmospheric gentle folk-imbued songs.

Rather appropriately to end with, here’s ‘The leaving Song’



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.